Introducing Different Types Of Arabian Horses

Arabian horses are recognizable to horse lovers around the world, notable for their floating, elegant gait, and refined, delicate features. However, did you know that there are also different types of Arabian horses?


What Is An Arabian Horse?

Originating from the Arabian Peninsula, the Arabian breed of horse is one of the world’s oldest horse breeds.

What Are The Different Arabian Horse Types?

The types of Arabian horses are all classified as the same breed. The type is determined by the area in which they are bred.

Egyptian Arabian

Considered to be the purest of all the types of Arabian horses, the Egyptian Arabian can trace its bloodlines back to the Bedouin tribes of Arabia. 

Russian Arabian

Arabian horses were introduced to Eastern Europe in the 17th century. They quickly became popular with Russian nobility, who established an intensive breeding program.

Polish Arabian

Many different countries invaded Poland during the mid-16th century.

Crabbet Arabian

The Crabbet Arabian is an English line of breeding, originating from the 18th century. 

Spanish Arabian

The Spanish Arabian is the rarest of all the different types of Arabian horse.

Shagya Arabian

In the mid-1700s by the Hungarian military developed the Shagya Arabian type.

Different Strains Of Arabian Horse

There are also 5 different strains of Arabian horses. A strain is a family or bloodline within a particular breed of horse, and traditional Arabian horse breeders often value the strain over the type of horse.

The Arabian horse is an ancient breed, famous for its fiery temperament and delicate appearance. This breed consists of 6 different types, each with its own distinctive features. Horse fans around the world love the Arabian horse breed. 


Find more detailed information in the link below

Find more articles about horses in